Investigators

Dr. David Huntsman MD, FRCPC, FCCMG

Professor, UBC; Director of OVCARE & Distinguished Scientist, Deputy Department Head

dhuntsma@bccancer.bc.ca

Dr. David Schaeffer MD, FRCPC

Associate Professor Head & Medical Director, Dept of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, Vancouver – Acute Services

David.Schaeffer@vch.ca

Dr. Lien Hoang MD

Clinical Assistant Professor, UBC Vancouver General Hospital, Anatomical Pathology

Lien.hoang@vch.ca

Dr. Blake Gilks MD, FRCPC

Professor Emeritus, Dept. Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, UBC; Clinical Pathologist, Division of Anatomic Pathology at VGH; Co-founder of OVCARE, GPEC and Canadian Immunohistochemistry Quality Control

blake.gilks@vch.ca

Dr. Torsten Nielsen MD/PhD FRCPC

Professor, UBC Anatomical Pathology, Vancouver General Hospital; Director, MD/PhD Program UBC; Genetic Pathology Evaluation Centre

torsten@mail.ubc.ca

Dr. Ali Bashashati B.Sc, M.Sc, PhD

Assistant Professor / Director of AI and Bioinformatics Research
OVCARE, School of Biomedical Engineering, UBC

ali.bashashati@ubc.ca

Dr Michael Anglesio PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia

m.anglesio@ubc.ca

Dr. Aline Talhouk PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia; Director of Data Science and Informatics, OVCARE

a.talhouk@ubc.ca

Dr. Tony Ng MD/PhD FRCPC

Clinical Associate Professor, UBC; Staff Pathologist, Vancouver General Hospital

Tony.Ng@vch.ca

Dr. Stephen Yip MD, PhD, FRCPC (he/him)

Associate Professor, UBC; Clinician-Scientist/Consultant Neuropathologist, BCCA; Medical director of Cancer Genetics & Genomics Lab and Centre for Clinical Genomics, BC Cancer; Neuropathologist, VGH

syip@bccancer.bc.ca

Dr. Poul Sorensen BSc, MD, PhD, FRCPC

Professor, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine; Distinguished Scientist Johal Chair in Childhood Cancer Research

psor@mail.ubc.ca

Dr. Samuel Aparicio BM, BCh, PhD, FRCPath, FRSC

Professor, UBC; Distinguished Scientist, Department Head Molecular Oncology, BCCA

saparicio@bccrc.ca

Dr. David Farnell (he/him)

Clinical Instructor in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at UBC; Consultant Anatomical Pathologist at Vancouver General Hospital


david.farnell@vch.ca

Dr. Amal El Naggar MD PhD (she/her)

Research Associate, Dep. of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, UBCMolecular Oncology Department, Dr. David Huntsman Laboratory
BC Cancer, part of the Provincial Health Services Authority

aelnaggar@bccrc.ca

Dr. Emily Thompson MBChB (she/her)

Post Doctoral Research Fellow in Dr. David Huntsman Laboratory

ethompson@bccrc.ca


Staff & Support

Julie Ho

Project/Lab Manager

Julie.Ho@vch.ca

Shelby Thornton (she/her)

MAPcore Research Technician

shthornton@bccrc.ca

Christine Chow

GPEC Senior Research Technician

Christine.Chow2@vch.ca

Monica Ta (she/her)

GPEC Research Technician

monica.ta@vch.ca

Luiza Pontual

MAPcore Co-op Student

lpontual@bccrc.ca